New Ideal - Reason | Individualism | Capitalism
Speaker surrounded by audience

How the New Intellectuals Can Put a ‘Dent in the Universe’

Philosophical ideas, championed by a culture’s intellectuals, move the world. You can join the movement.

Share this article:

Steve Jobs spoke powerfully about putting a “dent in the universe” — an image designed to inspire the rising generation of “movers and shakers,” the “crazy ones” who don’t accept the status quo. His words have inspired tech entrepreneurs, scientists, artists and countless others to move human progress forward.

But what is the fundamental cause of progress? Who in history sets the stage for creative and industrious minds to flourish? Ayn Rand offers a unique and profound answer.

Join us online March 6, 2021, for Ayn Rand Conference–Global to discover how Rand’s insights about the intellectual’s role in society can empower you to shape the world in the image of your values. The online conference is free of charge, but preregistration is required.

Onkar Ghate’s keynote, “What Aspiring Intellectuals Need to Know to Launch an Impactful and Satisfying Career,” will draw on insights in Rand’s book For the New Intellectual. There, Rand argues that the ideas of philosophers, championed by a culture’s intellectuals, set the agenda for a society, shaping events and ultimately the course of history. To change the world in a deep and enduring way, she contends, new philosophical ideas must be advanced by a new kind of cultural leader: the New Intellectual.

Attendees will be part of a unique community of individuals interested in philosophical ideas and long-term cultural change. Thanks to the generosity of Ayn Rand Institute donors and AynRandCon–Global sponsors, we can offer registration free to all participants.

The program will start on Saturday at 8:30 a.m. in Los Angeles, 11:30 a.m. in New York City, 1:30 p.m. in Buenos Aires, 4:30 p.m. in London, and 5:30 p.m. in Warsaw. Register here.

SUPPORT ARI

If you value the ideas presented here, please become an ARI Member today.

Share this article:
Avatar

Tom Bowden

Tom Bowden, J.D. and former civil litigator, is a research fellow at the Ayn Rand Institute.

Updates from New Ideal

 

Listen to New Ideal Live!

New Ideal Live is the podcast that explores pressing cultural issues from the perspective of Ayn Rand’s philosophy, Objectivism, which upholds the ideals of reason, individualism, and capitalism.

Subscribe here.

Ayn Rand University App

Explore unique philosophical content that challenges conventional views — in courses you can take on the go.

Available on Google Play and
the App Store.